Gem Hunter by Mark Nenadov

Leave a comment

October 1, 2013 by northerncardinalreview

I sit against a tree, seeking shade
from the sun’s raging blades
I’m over-worked and under paid
can’t get enough food for my family’s plates
into the depths of poverty
I’m cursed to wade.

I’ve dug for rubies, obsidian, and amethyst
I’ve never looked back when my hand is on the plough
rocks and minerals give my mind no rest
I’ve hammered my thumb and thumped my toe
this business has troubled me down to the soul
and my body enjoys it even less.

Mark Nenadov is a poet from Essex, Ontario, Canada. He lives with his lovely wife and their baby daughter. Mark’s poems have appeared in publications in the United States, Canada, Pakistan, Australia, England, and Ireland. He also has a poem in the Whisky Sour City anthology recently published by Black Moss Press. See http://www.marknenadov.com for more details.

Leave a Reply

